關於  Veronique Kwak

自由投稿藝術家和學者。專修英美文學,主要研究美國黑色電影與犯罪小說。創作主題多元,重點聚焦於:黑色電影、犯罪案件、女性主義、身體政治、爬蟲和建築。擅長在作品中融合多種典故、動植物元素和東方中文古字,創作出新的「概念型藝術」。不做既有物的複製,而是創造新的典故。東方化西方事物,有機而野生的作畫線條。題材取自黑暗,然而重點是正視黑暗之後,對這一切超脫羽化的正面能量。

你是英文系畢業。請問你研究的內容是什麼 ?還有,你是如何把你的研究連結到你的藝術作品內?

基本上,我的研究專長是20世紀的美國文學 ,我聚焦於盎格魯薩克遜族系的美國男性文學 ,像是海明威 、避世代男性作家 、美國冷硬派偵探小說作家,也就是美國男性的認同政治, 尤其是身體政治這一塊 。我論文的題目為 【性、暴力、無政府 :1920年代到1940年代美國犯罪小說身體政治 】。我投注了很多心思在研究美國隔離主義的文化傳統 ,從一些早期1930年代的警匪片 ,1940年代的黑色電影 ,還有知名的黑色大理花謀殺案。爾後,我開始對西方社會連續殺人犯與群眾謀殺的故事感到興趣。

我想,藉由我英文系研究而習得的英語文化感知,我傾向把我自己打造成了有地方文化關懷的全球藝術家 。我關心全球社會的非菁英族群,那些無法自由周遊四海的邊緣人,我對於那些極端分子,像是新納粹主義者、被拒絕的仇女沙文男,作為創作靈感對象而言,我很著迷 。就是那些不被社會同情的邊緣人。我想要當一個擺脫多元文化陳腔論述的國際藝術家,專就那些政治不正確的主題創作。

你的作品似乎很黑暗 。是什麼動機啟發了你對這些黑暗話題的創作?

我剛剛再看了一遍1991年,馬丁史柯西斯導演的【恐怖角 】,裡面有一段話,大概可以表達出我的心態 :「我要你慢慢地品嚐恐懼的滋味 。美國南方因由恐懼而進化 。南方的社會不斷地面對恐懼 ,恐懼印地安人,恐懼黑奴的,恐懼北方洋基聯邦。美國南方有著品嚐恐懼的優質傳統 。」

關於我對黑暗主題的著迷 ,我可以這樣說 ,我也試著品嚐恐懼的滋味 ,對於那些反對我的人事物 :我作為一個亞洲人,我作為一個女性, 所有不贊同我存在的東西 。我都很想慢慢品嚐那個恐懼的滋味,從黑暗的人事物汲取能量,讓我感受到一種奇異的自我進化感 。而且我自信,我有強健純粹的心靈,我不會被黑暗的事物給勾引而去做壞事 。因為我是個簡單純粹的人,我只想在一旁觀看欣賞黑暗的美感,以不帶批評、非關私人的熱情去品嚐邪惡。

最關鍵的因素在於,我想是我自己的出身背景 ,台灣保守傳統的中產階級。 我國中高中念的是保守私立天主教學校,我的青春期也在極度封閉的環境下成長 。為了捱過這段日子 ,且忠於自我 ,我不自覺地培養了叛逆的精神,我下意識做的每件事都是與主流價值背道而馳, 這個態度已經根深蒂固我心。 我這輩子, 大家都很跟我講一些包覆糖衣的場面話,所以我偏好觀賞黑暗的事物,因為它們很真實 。

你【男人與海】作品集的範圍很龐大 ,你畫了男人被魚吃掉的圖案 。你可以解釋你的創作動機還有作品的意義嗎 ?為什麼你有畫這系列畫作- 知名的男性公眾人物被魚吃-的靈感?

當我24歲的時, 我走在舊金山的街上,看到櫥窗內一個男性版美人魚的玩具。我朋友跟我開玩笑說道 :「這叫做 merman, 男同志版的美人魚 。」 我不禁納悶: 為什麼美人魚的形象都很女性化且性感? 任何跟美人魚的非女性相關物都是很酷兒化的, 非異性戀男性的。

若干年後, 我突然想起這件事, 就發奇想 ,想要創作出我自己設計的男人魚 ,而且是陽剛版的男人魚。 我想到海明威的名著【老人與海 】,於是我把我挪威男性友人的頭畫出來,被鮭魚跳出來吃掉 ,因為挪威盛產鮭魚。 自從那時, 我開始把男生的頭想成花朵,魚則變成花瓶裝男人的頭 。而且,那些圖案看起還很像西方文化的異教神明 ,在很多的文化內, 很多神明都是人頭配上動物的身體。 而且這些男人魚,必須要保持處變不驚的酷勁 ,就算被魚吃掉, 也是要保持男子氣慨, 像個男子漢般地承受這一切 ,神化自我。

就概念上說來, 我只是把父權社會對女性的文化邏輯倒反玩弄而已 :女人不是擺架子成為不可親近的女神 ,就是被戀物癖化成為男人的性玩具。 我只是用男性神話物化女性的邏輯,也神化物化男性而已。 獵人現在變成獵物。

當你創作每件作品的時, 你都做了很多研究 。你可以告訴我們你的創作過程嗎? 哪些作品是你覺得深具挑戰性的?

我老實跟你說 ,我有亞斯伯格的現象。 我傾向用跳脫常理的邏輯思考 我常常無法理解:為什麼許多人認為我專注的事物很不尋常。剛開始,這是場遊戲 。我很好奇我腦海裡的畫面被畫出來會長怎樣 ,我只是記錄我周遭發生觀察到的人事物而已。 我以前常常去蒐集別人對於一個概念的直觀投射,再加以詮釋成我自己發明的象徵符號。

舉例說來 ,有一次我讀到了一則新聞 :16歲的澳洲少女 ,被A片上癮的男友慫恿去參加群體肛交, 結果最後裝人工肛門戴屎袋 。我無法忘掉這則新聞 !我真的覺得那個女子好可憐! 我還去查要怎麼去裝屎袋 ,人工肛門的族群要怎麼上廁所。 於是我決定去畫出這個事件好了! 我問了許多人一個奇怪的問題 :如果肛交是種動物 ,那會是啥動物? 我聽過最好笑的答案是鴕鳥。 結果還是我自己去查許多魚類的照片,最後我找到了清道夫魚 ,我覺得牠長的真的很像肛門 。於是我又去研究一些破裂肛門的手術照片, 把那個魚的嘴畫成破裂的肛門 。

這幅畫就叫做【屎袋的愛情初體驗】。

你把自己的作品定位為 「有機藝術 」。「有機藝術」的意思是 什麼?為什麼這是你主要的創作精神?

有機的英文「organic 」,根據劍橋英文字典 ,指的是 不要使用人工的化學物質 ,去培育動植物的食物與產品 ,或是直接從活著的動植物萃取的成分。

有機食物「organic food」,根據BBC的文獻 ,是指一種避免使用人造肥料與殺蟲劑的農作系統 ,繁殖出來的產品 ,以不干涉自然成長的植物與牲口、不餵食任何添加物生成。

對我而言,「有機藝術」指的是沒有電腦化扭曲的藝術創作。 在插畫時,電腦程式常常被使用來上色 或是修片,去除掉那些意外的髒汙點 。有機藝術也就是避免使用人造機器創作的畫作,堅持原汁原味的創作 ,不抹煞任何可能的瑕疵。

再者,我認為有機藝術是安迪沃荷普普藝術的反論。 簡單說來,我意圖在畫作當中,創造出意義與保持真實感, 因為全球化社會,已經到了意義匱乏失真的境地,哲學家Gianni Vittimo說過:後現代社會是一個「被迫使用社交媒體與量化傳播的透明社會。」

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2019 Minim Photographic Studio

PHOTOGRAPHIC  STUDIO

摄影工作室   台北

Veronique Kwak

Veronique Kwak is a freelance artist/scholar. English/American Literature major: Film noir and Crime Fiction. Researcher on diverse themes: Film noir, true crimes, feminism, body politics, reptilian creatures, and architectures. VK has a particular focus on the transcultural interpretation/reinvention of symbols, animal/plant elements, and ancient Chinese seal-scripts while dedicating herself to the making of conceptual art or art of conceptualization.

VK has no intention to copycat the existent symbols but reinvents new ones with diverse cultural allusions in the East/West. VK insists on her raw take of different matters, with no digital involvement to distort the original sense of art. VK has been greatly inspired by dark subjects in order to create positive vibes after transcending the people and things that might raise nightmares in people.

We asked Veronique a few questions about her work...

You studied English Language, can you introduce to us what your majors focus was and how this is connected to your art work?

Basically, my focus is on American literatures during the 20th century. To be more specific, my main focus is on the literary cult of Anglo-American masculinity, such as Ernest Hemingway, Jack Kerouac, Dashiell Hammett, James M. Cain and Raymond Chandler. The identity politics of American manhood. Body politics, in particular. “Sex, Violence and Anarchy: the Body Politics of American crime fiction from the 1920s to the 1940s” is the title of my dissertation.

I put lots of efforts in absorbing the isolationist vibes within early gangster film (James Cagney’s The Public Enemy in 1931, for instance), film noir (Robert Mitchum’s Out of the Past in 1946), and mid-century misogyny like the Black Dahlia murder. Later I’ve become seriously engrossed in serial killers (textbook example: Ted Bundy) and mass murderers (2011 Norway attack) within the Western cultures.

I suppose, due to my acquisition of the cultural sensibility of the English language, I’m inclined to view myself as a global artist who has a provincial concern of the global non-elites, who are deprived of the benefits of cosmopolitan lifestyle. I’m infatuated with people (as the objects of my art, of course) who take perverse interests in neo-Nazism as well as rejected men who are very angry at women. In short, I’m curious about those disfranchised, extremely marginalized people, who are usually deemed as unworthy of public sympathy. It is my aspiration to be an international artist without the multicultural clichés of cosmopolitanism, artist who aims at the politically incorrect.

You work can be seen as quite dark, what inspires you to create these dark subjects?

I just re-watched Cape Fear (1991), directed by Martin Scorsese, who is one of my all-time directors. There is a dialogue in the film that perfectly renders my state of mind. In dealing with the villain played by Robert de Niro, the character named Claude Kersek utters: “No, you’re scared. But that’s okay. I want you to savour that fear. The south evolved in fear; fear of the Indian, fear of the slave, fear of the damn union. The south has a fine tradition of savouring fear.”

Regarding my fascination with the darkness, I, too, wish to “savour the fear” of things that are against me, me as Asian, me as a woman, me as everything I’m not. I sense a strange sense of self-evolvement in absorbing the dark side of human psyche from those who differ from me. I can easily do that because I’m perfectly sure I’m spiritually strong enough not to be lured into the dark. I’m a simple person living a simple life. I just observe the darkness in distance, without judgment but disinterested passion.

Above all, I was raised in a very conservative, middle-class family in Taiwan. I even went to private Catholic middle and high schools during my teens. Surviving in an environment as such, rebellion, the desire to be anything but mainstream, has grown to be deep-wired within me. I prefer to look at the darkness, where great truth lies, because people have kept feeding me sugar-coated “untruth” for my whole life.

Death Becomes Him is a very large and extensive series of yours where you draw men being eaten by a fish, can you explain the inspiration and the meaning behind this and what is the desire to keep drawing famous male figures in this way?

When I was 24, I walked on the streets of San Francisco. I saw a male mermaid toy in a shop. My companion then jokingly explained, “this is called ‘merman’ – gay mermaid.” I wondered why mermaids are regarded as a common form of feminine sensuality, any other association of mermaid with men seems queer, absolutely non-hetero-male.

Years later, this thought popped into my head and it was a whim for me then to come up with my own version of masculine manmaid or manfish. I thought of Ernest Hemingway’s Old Man and the Sea. I based one picture of my friend from Norway being devoured by a jumping salmon (because salmon is a common fish diet there). Since then, I began to see male heads as flowers while the fish as the vase. Those drawings look like ancient pagan gods (The hybrid of human head and animal body is not rare in various cultural mythologies.), and those men’s got to remain cool, impervious while being eaten by fish. They take it all, just like a man, or to be exact, the man.

Conceptually speaking, I just reverse the cultural logic of patriarchy upon women, who are either deified (goddess on a pedestal) or fetishized (sex toys at men’s disposals), and place this logic upon men, who are now objectified to be my manfish gods in Death Becomes Him. The hunter on the top of food chain is now the hunted at the bottom.

https://ladyofwhims.wordpress.com/2016/05/27/manmaids/

https://deathbecomeshimblog.wordpress.com/

You conduct a lot of research when creating each piece. Can you tell us a little about this process. What has been your most challenging piece to make?

To be candid with you, I’m with Asperger’s Syndrome. I’m inclined to see the world outside the box. I don’t understand why many of my focuses on things are often viewed as unusual by many. It was like a game, in the beginning. I was curious how the images in my head would turn out after I actualized them as illustrations. They have a lot to do with the incidents that take place in my daily life. I used to collect information by gathering people’s intuitive projections of a concept, which I intend to render as a new symbol.

For instance, I read some news about a 16-year-old Australian girl who was forced to wear ostomy bag for life after being coerced into group anal sex by her porn-addicted boyfriend. This news stayed in my head and I genuinely felt sorry for her.  I even went to research on the process of wearing and discharging ostomy bags online. I wished to illustrate this event as an image word of its own. I asked many people an odd question: if anal sex has to be an animal, what animal would it be? One of the funniest answers I gathered is ostrich. I had been searching and brainstorming for weeks to think of a creature that embodies the concept of anal sex. I checked many rare species of sea animals. Then I found suckermouth catfish does resemble the shape of an anus. I tried to find pictures of fractured anus, which I was going to draw as the mouth of this fish.

The result is called “The Sodomized Regret”:

https://ladyofwhims.wordpress.com/2019/01/27/the-sodomized-regret/

In addition to that, I think the most challenging piece is the illustration of Emily Dickinson’s poetry.

https://veroniquekwak.wordpress.com/2019/10/11/tell-all-the-truth-but-tell-it-slant/

This took me weeks to come up with various cultural phenomena to render this poem, “Tell the Truth but tell it slant/Success in Circuit lies/Too bright for our infirm Delight/The truth’s superb delight/As Lighting to Children eased with explanation kind/The truth must dazzle gradually/Or every man be blind.”

I consider this poem perfectly expresses my view about life and art.

You label your work as “organic art” what do you mean by this term and why is it important for your work?

 “Organic”, according to The Cambridge English Dictionary, means “not using artificial chemicals in the growing of plants and animals for food and other products” or “being or coming from living plants and animals.”

 “Organic food”, according to BBC, is “the product of a farming system which avoids the use of man-made fertilisers, pesticide; growth regulators and livestock feed additives. . .”

To me, “Organic Art” is art free of computerized distortion. Computer programs, in illustrations, are often used to add colours in drawings or erase an accidental stain made by the artist in the process of drawing. Organic art is art that avoids the use of man-made machines and insists on showing an art piece as it is despite the potential flaws.

Furthermore, I do consider my form of “Organic Art” as the antithesis of Andy Warhol. Simply put, I desire to create meanings and stay true to my authenticity in a globalized world devoid of meanings and authenticity, a “transparent society of generalized communication and mass media” (Gianni Vattimo)

https://veroniquekwak.wordpress.com/2018/04/12/the-antithesis-of-andy-warhol/

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2019 Minim Photographic Studio

PHOTOGRAPHIC  STUDIO

摄影工作室   台北