水瓶雨答和魔羯 YOKI 在台北成立了 THEVOLCANO 火山販賣舖。平面設計畢業,現以獨立出版小誌和製作陶器藝術品為主,作品單純可愛帶著幽默傻氣,時而摻雜一些害羞使人感到愉悅。

THEVOLCANO 火山販賣舖

取名作「火山販賣鋪」的原因?

取名火山,單純是因為某天路過一間雜貨店,被走廊上一張海報吸引,畫面是寫實火山噴發的地質剖面圖,覺得充滿力量,便以此命名。

 

你們兩位一起共事多久了?你們又是如何決定將兩位的藝術創作做結合的呢?

我們是在大學時認識的,YOKI大二,雨答大一,認識的第二年覺得觀念與審美觀蠻合的,索性就在網路上創立品牌,到現在已經七年了。

在同個品牌下共事的優缺點為何?

經營一個品牌會需要處理很多事,除了創作以外有非常多雜事,拍攝、上架、銷售、合作blablala,所以能擁有一個夥伴能分擔與討論是非常幸福的,我們已經聽過很多一人藝術家在處理這些雜事的時候,覺得很無力,甚至處理不來因此放棄,因此有人一起共事是很好的優點。缺點的話,也就是優點的反面,兩個人一起經營的品牌,你需要和另外一個人討論所有事,必須達成共識才能執行,必須互相督處才能讓一件事完成,就會產生非常多磨擦,以及激烈的溝通。

 

什麼能激發你們兩位的靈感?這有隨著時間改變過嗎?

我們喜歡我們能了解的東西,看見喜歡的東西,想要為他做點甚麼,就會產生靈感,比如說,我們喜歡恐龍,覺得讓他們做些色色的事很好笑,於是就畫了一本ZINE《恐龍ABC》。在創作與生活同時要進行時,有時候會為了收入創造出一些不是很喜歡的東西,這一直是我們必須要時時提醒自己的,不希望為了生活,失去了創作的快樂。


你們的作品非常的性積極。為什麼生殖器和性快感對你們如此重要?
 

創作中常出現性器官,是覺得目前台灣公開討論陰莖和陰部是非常隱諱的,但他們跟眼睛、鼻子和嘴巴都一樣真實存在,希望透過我們的作品能讓大家習以為常,欣賞其中之美。

 

你們做為性愛藝術家的經驗是什麼?你們是否曾經不得不在社群媒體或其他環境中自我審查你們的作品?

我們覺得性是好的、健康的、自然的,我們會透過公開場合的市集,民眾常使用的網路購物平台,大量曝光我們的作品,當然,會遇到很多保守的人直接反應不適合,但這也就是我們想要達到的目的,我們就更有機會直接面對群眾,去告訴他們這是正常的。

 

在你們進行生殖器陶藝塑形時,心裡想些什麼?
 

沒有想甚麼ㄟ,就是覺得可愛、好笑,好喜歡,希望不要燒裂。

若你們可以真的 觸摸 一隻恐龍,你會選擇哪一種?

YOKI:「易碎雙腔龍,我要從頭末到尾,可以摸很久!」

雨答:「副櫛龍的冠飾在他叫的時候會感受共鳴。」

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2020 Minim Photographic Studio

PHOTOGRAPHIC  STUDIO

摄影工作室   台北

Yuda and Yoki established The Volcano Store in Taipei. Both graduating with a degree in graphic design; they now focus on zine publishing and making pottery art. Their works are simple and cute, with humorous silliness which sometimes they mix with some delightful shyness.

The Volcano Store

We asked The Volcano Store a few questions...

Why are you called Volcano store?


We named ourselves Volcano simply because one day we were passing a grocery store we were attracted by a poster that is full of energy on the wall. The poster pictured a section of a real volcanic eruption.

How long have the two of you been working and collaborating together? And how did you decide to combine both of your art practises together?

We met at university, we were in different school years but discovered we were quite similar in terms of concept ideas and aesthetics. Our brand has been established online for seven years now.

What are the pros and cons of working together under the same brand name? 

Operating a brand requires you to deal with a lot of things, it is not simply about creating, but there are also a lot of chores to be done, from sorting marketing, to taking product images, organising sales, etc. We both feel happy to have a partner to discuss ideas and to share the responsibilities together. We know many artists struggle with the business aspects that are needed to go hand in hand with creating work, it can make you feel very weak to the point some give up, so it works very well for us working by each other’s side. Of course there is the disadvantage that by having two people running the brand we must discuss every detail with each other, we have to ensure we reach an agreement before we implement anything. We supervise each other to get one thing done, it is an intense relationship that can sometimes produce friction.

What inspires both of you? Has this changed over time?

We like things we can understand. We find inspiration when we produce work that we like. For example, we like dinosaurs and think it’ll be hilarious if they’re doing something combined with sex, so we drew the zine Dinosaur ABC. To balance the artistic and practical life, sometimes we create work we don’t like so much to help us have a stable income. But we keep reminding ourselves not to lose enjoyment in creating simply for making a living.

 

Your work is very erotic and sex positive. Why are genitals and sexual pleasure so important to you?


Sexual organs often appear in our creations. We feel that in Taiwan it is rare to have an open discussion about penis’ and vulvas. Human genitals are very concealed, but they are as real as our eyes, our nose and our mouth. We hope that through our art work, people can become more familiar with them and appreciate the beauty of them more.

 

What is your experience of being sex-positive artists? Have you ever had to self-censor your work on social media or in other settings?

We feel that sex is good, healthy and natural. We show and sell our art work in a variety of different public spaces such as marketplaces and popular online shopping platforms for more exposure opportunities. Of course, there are many conservative people that think that is not appropriate. However, by showing our work in these public spaces it gives us a better chance to face the mainstream population directly and educate them that this is normal. This is what we hope to achieve.

What is on your mind when you are shaping one of your genital ceramics?


We don’t think about anything, we feel cute, funny, we like it, we hope it doesn’t crack.

If you could really touch a dinosaur, which would you choose?


YOKI: An Amphicoelias. I want to touch it from its head all the way down to its tail, I think this will take quite a while!

YuDa: The head of the Parasaurolophus to feel the vibrations of its RAAWWR.

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2019 Minim Photographic Studio

PHOTOGRAPHIC  STUDIO

摄影工作室   台北