邊緣系統為位於大腦皮質及皮質下區域的結構,包含海馬體及杏仁體在內,主要負責處理記憶與情緒。迷戀性與死亡,反覆訴說那些關於那些情緒的潮濕陰暗的記憶..

邊緣系統

你的藝術背景是什麼?在你決定風格及成立邊緣系統之前,你的作品是又是什麼樣子呢?

本身就讀藝術創意產業學系出身,之前在學校的畢業專題就有觸及到性別議題,也結合服裝設計,而現在較專注平面繪畫創作。

你的作品富含情慾,是性器官與性行為的哪些部分成為你創作的動機呢?

我們覺得身體、情慾、性是人生中不可或缺的事物,但人們卻又比較習慣避起來談,我們這個世代處於好像很開放,但骨子裡又很難擺脫那些長期被教育的規範與限制,所以覺得談這些東西是很必要的,我們以創作的方式展現自我,並期望一個對各種性別、性傾向、性癖好、不同身體樣貌都能欣賞尊重並且毫不忌諱的時代到來。

當時發第一張圖片的時候,應該是很緊張吧,因為台灣其他圖文的粉絲專頁好像都是以漫畫方式呈現比較多,我們這種類型的比較少,不知道大家的反響好不好,那時候利用了很多hashtag讓我們的貼文能見度更高,後來漸漸有了粉絲,也給我們很多稱讚,開始覺得受人理解與喜愛很開心,越有動力經營下去。

 

剛開始沒有跟很多親朋好友說我們創了粉絲專頁,只想要默默經營,但後來可能需要不同的意見的時候,才會跟朋友聊到,可能因為之前在學校也做過類似的題材,平常也一直持續關注性別議題等等,親友知道後通常反應滿平淡的。

 

我們常常被instagram檢舉下架圖片,其實一開始沒有特別意識到我們有特別挑戰他們的規定,覺得也有很多藝術家作品是這樣非常裸露的,但後來認真看了一下,發現多數作者處理性器官的部分還是會稍微掩飾。但因為一直以來創作不論是文字還是圖片,都是非常直接的,目前暫時沒有想要改變,也有開其他社群平台以防instagram停權時備用。

剛好我們昨天就遇到帳號被停權,將來應該會直接放棄instagram平台,改用其他的,不過因為在instagram上還是比較容易累積台灣粉絲,所以目前稍微感到困擾。

你經常在市集裡販賣你的作品,經過的一般大眾對你的作品反應如何?有什麼特別印象深刻的故事嗎?

很多從遠處觀望的人,基本上大眾反應都還不錯,他們很多是以覺得新奇有趣的眼光看過來的。也有不少是本來就有追蹤我們instagram的人。

 

印象深刻的是,通常家庭一起來逛的,看到我們是這種類型就會帶小孩子迅速略過,但有遇到小孩指著我們東西發問,媽媽認真回答的,覺得非常溫馨。

 

另外在準備商品的時候,也有廠商表明無法配合印製限制級的內容,那時候的錯愕也讓人印象深刻。

你認爲要如何創作出好的情慾藝術?

圖像方面,目前的表現手法都是以線條為主,因此觀察人體輪廓、如何抓到神韻簡化是需要經過仔細考慮的。

而在整體想表達的故事內容,有時候是來自朋友或自身的生活經驗,捕捉其生活片段的樣貌、事件中細微的情感,觀者若有相似的體驗,就能從中得到共鳴,也讓我們收到更多回饋和互動,所以能夠在其圖文中融入想傳達的情感也是我們希望能做好的。在訴說故事的同時,也讓觀者能從中投射自己的情感與故事。

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2019 Minim Photographic Studio

PHOTOGRAPHIC  STUDIO

摄影工作室   台北

The limbic system is the area of your brain that is connected to memory and emotions.  The artist named himself this due to the memories and emotions felt during acts of lust and love. His work is a collection of graphic drawings that highlight and educate about sex.

Limbic System

We asked Limbic System a few questions about his work...

What is your background in art and what was your work like before you decided on your style and founded your brand Limbic System?

I studied in the Department of Art and Creative Industries. My graduation thesis touched on gender issues and I also combined it with fashion design. Now I am more focused on graphic painting.

Your work is very erotic – what is it about sexual organs and sexual acts that motivates you to draw this?

We feel that bodies, lust and sex are indispensable things in life but people like to avoid talking and looking at them. Our generation seems to be very open, but it is still difficult to get rid of the norm and limitations of our education which still sees discussing sex as taboo. We feel that it is necessary to talk about these things so we express sex in a creative way wanting to respect all kinds of genders, sexual orientations, sexual temperaments and different physical appearances.

How did you feel when you posted your first piece of erotic art on social media? What were your first responses like from your family, friends and the general Instagram community? Do you ever get nervous about your art violating Instagram’s guidelines?


When we posted my very first picture, it was a little stressful, because the fan pages of other graphic texts and illustrations in Taiwan seem to be presented in comics, there were fewer people posting online platforms. We don’t know if everyone’s response is good or not. At that time, we used a lot of hashtags to make our posts more visible. Later, we gradually got fans, and they also gave us a lot of praise. This helped me begin to feel happy to understand and love my work.


At first, we didn’t tell a lot of our friends and family that we had created a fan page. We wanted to operate silently, but sometimes we spoke to a few friends when we needed different opinions. Maybe because knowing we have done similar subjects in school before and have always been paying attention to gender issues, my relatives and friends usually do not seem so surprised after they’ve become aware of my fan page.

 

We are often reported to Instagram for our illustrations – Actually our account was blocked again yesterday. In fact, at first we didn't realize that we had a special challenge with putting our work online as we know that many artists post naked and nude images, but then we took a hard look and found that most of the authors deal with drawing genitals in a different way, that makes it slightly disguised. Since our works are always very straight forward no matter in the method of texts or graphics, we’re not thinking of changing anything now.

In the future, we maybe should abandon using Instagram and switch to another platform. But with many people using Instagram in Taiwan it is the easiest and more practical social media platform to use so it is a problem at present!

You often sell your work at markets, how do the general public passing by react to your work? Do you have any memorable stories?

Many people look at our work from afar, often it is not a bad public reaction, many of them look at the novelty with interesting eyes. There are also many people who have followed our instagram.

 

Often families are the biggest clientele at markets, so people often quickly skip past us with their children. Though one time a child stopped to point and question our work in which their mother replied very honest and seriously to educate them – this gave us a warm impressed feeling.

 

In addition, with some of our products some manufacturers have detailed that they could not cooperate with printing our designs because they deem it to be restricted content.

What do you think makes good erotic art?

In terms of images, I think look at the technique of the artist based on lines believing that it requires careful consideration. How they have observed the contours of the human body and how they have illustrated the charm of the act and object.

The content of the story that you want to express is sometimes inspired from friends or your own life experience, capturing the appearance of the fragments of life and the subtle emotions in the event is very important to me. It means that by incorporating emotions, if the viewer has a similar experience, he can resonate with it and feel a connection to the art work. While telling the story, it also allows the viewer to project his own emotions and stories.

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2020 Minim Photographic Studio

PHOTOGRAPHIC  STUDIO

摄影工作室   台北