"當我發現了這獨特的手工書縫製時,讓我深深喜愛上它那手作樸實的感覺,加上我熱愛旅行,用自己縫製的手工書,寫上自己的旅行日記、畫圖。「鱷魚」取自於自己中文名的諧音。希望藉由市集活動來讓更多人認識手工書,寫下自己的小故事,畫上自己的心情,或是做成手工相本都是最獨特的生活手藝並且從作品中傳遞溫暖與快樂。"

鱷魚小姐

We asked 鱷魚小姐 a little about her work...

您的書都做得如此漂亮!平均每本製作花多少的時間?可以大概描述一下製作的過程嗎?

每本的製作平均花費2-3小時。 手工書的原理其實就是將內頁對摺後,3-4張疊在一起,一小冊的縫製。

您是如何開始製作第一本手工書?可以請您說明一下,其他的縫製方式如何發展?

 

我的第一本法式手工書是跟一位老師學習的,之後便發現有更多的縫法,藉由科普特縫法的概念,自己研究出將名字縫在書脊上。第一次用名字來縫製花了將近8個小時,每個字型和字數不一樣,也會影響到製作的時間,平均大約5-6個小時。

 

您的一些書中。有部分的封面是您旅行時蒐集的素材,您怎麼確保您對於自己所蒐集素材不會太過於依戀?

 

我蒐集素材比較隨性一點,也很喜歡各種不同風格,也可以剛好因應不同客人的喜好,但大部分都是我自己喜歡的。有時候的確太多喜歡的,還會有點捨不得賣出去!

 

您的一些書中,有的是有印刷設計,這些都是您自己設計的嗎?您的靈感都來自哪裡?

 

大部分是我蒐集的紙,有時候也會自己創作,靈感大部分來自於我喜歡的事物,像是聖誕節是我最喜歡的節日,小的時候我的爸媽都會為我準備兩份聖誕禮物,一份是他們送的,一份是聖誕老公公送的,讓我覺得自己很幸福,因此想把這份溫暖傳遞,因此每年都會有新的設計。我也喜歡突破書的既定印象,例如:三角形、圓形的書,對我來說手工書是藝術品,以前人的智慧讓書的每一頁都可以攤平,我想將這個工藝結合一點點的創新,製作出更好玩、更美的書。

我們喜歡您的名字客製化手工書,您如何計算、掌握縫線的走向?如果有人想要購買,可以告訴我們如何訂製這些獨特的手工書?

 

我會先在書背上畫出字大概的形狀,再來用針刺過,將每個縫點做記號。英文字母基本上都能縫製出來,至於像是中文,有些字的筆畫太複雜,縫起來字會黏在一起、呈現不出來,至今也縫製了不少中文的手工書,甚至是韓文。如果想要訂製,都很歡迎跟我討論。

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2019 Minim Photographic Studio

PHOTOGRAPHIC  STUDIO

摄影工作室   台北

Miss Croc is the name Crystal goes by during the time she spends making hand bound books. When Crystal first discovered handmade book sewing, she instantly felt a deep love for the handmade process. She also loves to travel, write her own travel diary and draw in her own handmade books. The "crocodile" is taken from the homonym of its Chinese name. She hopes that through the market activities, more people will know and appreciate  handmade books, write their own short stories, draw their own moods, make their own albums and convey warmth and happiness from the pieces of work.

Miss Croc

We asked Crystal a few questions about her work...

Your books are so beautifully made! On average how long does it take to bind one of your books? Can you describe the process a little?

 

On average it takes about 2-3 hours per book. The concept of the handmade book is to fold 3-4 papers in half and bind them together.

 

How did you first start book binding? And how has your different methods of binding progressed over time?

 

I learned French Stitch bookbinding from a teacher. After that I found that there are many different kinds of methods to bind a book. And then I came up with an idea of binding names on the book spine which took me about 8 hours when I made it for the first time. Each customised book takes about 5-6 hours to make, though it really depends on the complexity of the alphabet letters or Chinese characters.

 

Some of your books you have stitched materials and paper clippings from your travels to make a front cover, how do you ensure you don’t become too attached to the materials you collect from your travels?

 

I always collect different kinds of papers I like. Sometimes I’m kind of reluctant to sell them, because a lot of the papers are all my favourite. I can also produce books to meet specific customer requirements.

 

Some of your books have printed designs, are these from your own illustrations? What inspires you to draw?

 

Most of the covers are collected. I like to come up with some fun ideas sometimes. My inspiration is mostly the things I love. Such as Christmas. When I was little, my parents always prepared two Christmas gifts. One is from them, and the other was told from Santa. So I’d like to share the warmth of it. Therefore, I always make a new design each year. I also like to break the traditional form of a book, by making triangle and round shaped books. To me, handmade books are not just simply a book, but they are an art piece. With the wisdom from ancient people, handmade books can be easily flipped over. The combination of the old skills and little creative ideas in my mind makes the books more fun and novel.

 

We love the personalised name books you have made, how do you calculate where to sew something like this? Can you tell us about how someone can go about ordering one of these unique designs?

 

First, I draw the names on the book spine, then I poke on each spot to make a mark. Basically, all of the alphabet can be personalised. Some of the Chinese characters can be done perfectly. However, when it comes to the complex characters, it might be hard to present on the spine. I’ve so far made several books with Chinese characters and even the Korean alphabet as well. I am always open for people discuss ideas if they would like to have a personalised book bound.

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2020 Minim Photographic Studio

PHOTOGRAPHIC  STUDIO

摄影工作室   台北