Elina Eihmane為住在臺北的拉脫維亞的藝術家與母親。她從事視覺詩的創作,最近也開始寫詩。

Elina Eihmane

We asked Elina a little about her work...

去年你開始寫詩,可以與我們分享一下你如何開始寫詩以及其對於藝術創造的影響?

 

在一年前寫的那一首詩裡面我看到了我的痛苦及苦惱的盡頭:它包含了我尚未知曉的事,而且更重要的是它包含了大奮鬥的結束。我沒有感覺到它的來臨。毋庸說此事很大,帶給我極大的解脫,我就順暢的繼續寫詩。Taipei Potery Collective在這一方面提供一種應作解釋的機會給我,而且一直起 促動作用。

詩歌對我來説是一個又樸素又精確的文體。我喜歡止於未磨練的詩句。詩歌擅長於發揮我的狩獵者與采集者的這一面,建立一個古老的關聯、原始本能:一種輕鬆的感覺。寫詩讓我發覺我很多話可以説。

我的大多數的詩歌為所謂的步行詩 – 當我的身體在動,很多想法回來: 爬山、逛街、看兒子繞公園而走。行走協助感情的移動。我是一個狩獵者與采集者:寫所目睹的、采集圖像及印象去抒發感情。

詩歌帶來了更大的自由,而且它允許我放棄對於完美主義的追求。我事前所從事的藝術創作如攝影與電影從來沒有帶來如此的舒適自在感及放下感。我買的就是這個:視覺詩。詩歌也允許我快速地創作,對於一個帶小孩的人及其重要。我很喜歡詩歌能夠讓我抓住感覺,稍縱即逝的時刻於詩歌裡出現。 藝術品的經驗是我運作的方式。依賴於所有的感官去經驗生命,這就是我自己出版的視覺詩書的主要目的。

過程也很重要。見到真的喜歡我的作品的人讓我十分高興。此可以讓我慢下來與別人互相感應。在市集的場合内去觀察如何不同的人會被不同的作品吸引非常有意思。這也是一種内心探索。他們能夠在我的作品裡看大自己或他們所認識的人。隨著別人買它帶回家,我的作品的内涵會成長與改變。這是一種附加的意義。我喜歡寫作與自造書籍,此帶給我極大的快樂。

我們很喜歡你的版畫。請問,你如何選擇最適當的照片?

我先會試一下再決定。經過試錯過程,先印刷幾個版本。將要刻的圖像我自己來畫、或用照片或畫照片的圖像。我喜歡結合不同技術的自由。我的過程很簡單:我先選一批照片,將他們改成黑白片,再去調整光暗對比。就是這樣而已。接著在紙上印刷再去決定。我也會選幾張照片作爲抽象的背景。

我本來想將這一本自製繪本【切】,不使用照片來描寫我的生產及后產與嬰兒生活的經驗。社會上將嬰兒視爲可愛是一種刻板印象,可我個人所經歷的苦惱并不可愛。所以我把我自己的與兒子的照片改成版畫,加以一些抽象的顔色去印刷這本自製繪本。我一般會用整體的故事,不太會用單一的照片。看書時我用已連續的圖像來思考,所以是個非常適合我。

 

你的繪本是手工製作裝訂。請問,你最喜歡使用何種材料,技術與縫法?

我喜歡日式線裝,尤其是Becca Hirsbrunner使用的圖案之視覺元素。手作書之製造過程内的各種元素對我來説很重要,個個在協助發揮故事的發展與内涵。所以,我會選帶有象徵性的裝訂方法。我會仔細的去選紙張,紙張的感覺很重要。書是用來可以摸的、聞的。看到人再用指頭摩擦而聞一下我繪本的紙張,會帶給我極大的享受。我還喜歡加一些手工的東西,比如書葉閒放個乾植物。講到藝術,我喜歡有意外發生的肯能性,我願意接受意外所帶來的挑戰與其所招致的感受擴展,以免完美主義的約束。

名爲【選擇偏袒】一本是你與你的兒子合作完成的。你們倆如何合作?你們倆一起合作爲何那麽重要?

我得在母親身份找到我自己。一開始當母親讓我覺得迷路了,這與我以前所經歷的非常不同,而且我必須找到我對於兒子愛以及我與他連接。簡單的說,我無法像以前那樣繼續下去。所以我決定參加工作坊,還買了膠捲給我的三歲的兒子。一起攝影能夠讓我看到我與他如何分享這個世界,是我們更加互相接近與親密。我兒子拍了我十分喜愛的照片,這些照片裡面出現了真正的我,就從這些照片我看到了真正的我。這個計劃也讓我緩解某些痛苦。養育子女、當家長對我來説是關於變化、一起成長、冒險與愛。

 

你的最近的作品很重視母親身份這個主題。你的兒子出生之前,你在創作什麽?

我兒子的出生改變了我對於很多現象的看法,不過我還是會討論以前的話題。現在我接受更多的脆弱、痛苦與愛出現在我的作品裡。

我歷來題材都來自於個人的、日記性的經驗,來自於平日的魅力與大自然。我曾就親密的人兒敘述了故事。因爲我住臺灣,曾也通過攝像向臺灣表示敬意。

我想要想向作爲母親的藝術家、女藝術家表達支持,肯定超出浪漫愛情的愛。我覺得藝術裡的愛情缺乏其充實的意義。我這本【蜻蜓的早晨】詩集是寫個我六歲兒子的母愛情書,而且我覺得每一個曾當過小孩的人能與其產生共鳴。

我想描寫一些我無法逃避事實與情況,描寫其過程與變化。每一個經驗又是獨一無二的又是人類共同經驗的一部分。能狗繼續保持往前,能夠繼續説話對我來説很重要。永遠至少會有一個人願意聼,不過根據我的經驗平常不只有有一個。

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2019 Minim Photographic Studio

PHOTOGRAPHIC  STUDIO

摄影工作室   台北

Elina Eihmane is a Latvian artist and mother living in Taipei. She creates visual poetry, lately quite literally.

Elina Eihmane

We asked Elina a few questions about her work...

Last year you started writing poetry, can you tell us how you first began and how this has now changed your artwork?

 

In a poem I wrote a year ago I saw an end to my pain and suffering: it contained things I didn’t know and most importantly it contained the end of a big struggle. I didn’t feel it coming. So it was huge. It was such a relief, and it came so easy so I kept writing. Taipei Poetry Collective’s regular meetings are great support for accountability and keep me motivated.

Poetry to me is a simple and precise form, I find it easy to leave it as it is, unpolished. Poetry brings out the best of hunter and gatherer in me, an ancient connection, a primal instinct – light and easy. Writing poetry made me realise I have a lot to say.

 

Most of my poems are walking poems – ideas that come to me while my body is on the move: hiking, walking in the city, circling around the park while my son is playing. Walking helps to move feelings around. I am a hunter and gatherer – I write what I see, I collect images, impressions to convey emotions.

 

Poetry brought more freedom and letting go of perfectionism. I hadn’t experienced this level of ease of being done and letting go with other forms of art I’ve done, like film and photography. So this is also what I’ve been selling - I combine visual poetry. I love how poetry captures feelings, fleeting moments you can sense in the poem. Experiencing the artwork is how I function. Experiencing life with all my senses, this is what I’m trying to do with the visual poetry books I self-publish.

 

It’s all about the process. I love meeting people who are genuinely interested in my work. To slow down and connect. It’s interesting to me to be in a market setting and see all the different kinds of people that gravitate towards certain work. Soul-searching. Seeing themselves or people they know in the work I have created. It’s beautiful. I think I can sense the meaning of my work grow and change too with the people who bring it home. The added meaning. I enjoy writing and hand-making books, it brings so much joy.

 

We really like your screen prints, how do you know when choosing photographs, which ones will work well as a screen print? What is your selection process like?

 

I try out and see. Trial and error of multiple combinations, although I print a few versions. I draw for linocut or use photos or draw from photos. I like the freedom of combining technics. My process is very simple: I select a bunch of photos and then turn them black and white, and turn up the contrast. That’s it. I print it on paper and see. I choose some figurative and some photos that might work as an abstract background or detail.

I wanted to make this handmade book ‘Cut’ about my experience of birth and living with a new-born without using photographs, as babies are stereotypically considered cute, and my experience wasn’t cute. So I turned the photographs of me and my new-born son into screens and printed the book in a more abstract colour way. I usually work with stories instead of single images. I think in consecutive images, in books, this is why poetry works for me so well too.

 

Your art books are hand bound, what materials, techniques and stitches do you enjoy working with?

I like Japanese stab binding, especially the visual elements in Becca Hirsbrunner’s patterns. All elements of bookmaking are important to me, all of them need to contribute towards moving the story forward and conveying meaning. Therefore, I choose to bind with symbolic meaning too. I like to choose my papers very carefully; the feel of the paper is very important. The books are meant to be touched, smelled. I take great satisfaction in seeing people rubbing paper between their fingers and smelling my books. I like to add handmade elements, like dried plants glued between sheets of paper. I like accidents, I accept the challenge and invitation to expand the perception and cut that perfectionism that the accidents bring.

 

Your artist book titled ‘Picking Sides’ is a collaborative project with your son, how did you work on this project together? Why was it so important that both of you were part of it?

 

I needed to find me in motherhood, I felt lost, it was so different from anything I had ever done, and I needed to find love and connection with my son – I simply could not go on like that. So I joined a masterclass and I gave my then 3.5-year-old son a film. Taking photos together made me see how we share this world together, it brought us closer. My son took dearest photographs of me that I love so much because he saw the real me, I can see the real me in them. This project helped to release some pain.  Parenting to me is about change, about growing together, adventures and love.

 

A lot of your recent art work focuses on motherhood – What work were you creating before your son was born?

 

The birth of my son changed the way I look at things, but I still speak about the same subjects. I allow more vulnerability and pain and love to be in my work. I have always worked with personal, diary, daily magic, and nature. I have created stories about people that are close to me. Since I’m in Taiwan – a tribute to Taiwan.

I’m adding my voice to mother artists, women artists, and love that reaches far beyond romantic love. I think love in art sometimes is deprived of its full meaning. I wrote this collection of poems ‘Dragonfly Morning’ as a realistic love book for my now six-year-old son, and I think it could speak to anyone who has ever been a child.

I want to talk about the situations I can’t walk away from, being in the process, being the change. Each experience is unique and at the same time part of all human experiences. It’s important to me to keep going, to keep speaking. There’s always at least one person who would be interested, but usually there’ s more.

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2019 Minim Photographic Studio

PHOTOGRAPHIC  STUDIO

摄影工作室   台北